Posted by: Leah | January 6, 2007

MEMORY


This week’s theme is Memory

On boxing Day (that’s Dec 26 here in Canada), we (my family together with BIL and family) have formed a new tradition of going out to see a live theatre show. This has been our Christmas gift from my hubby’s brother and his wife over the last 3 years. First year; 2004- we saw The Sound of Music, and then 2005 – we saw Beauty and the Beast and 2006 – CATS. The shows are geared to be family oriented and we enjoyed them all. My daughter says she loves CATS the most.

We were not allowed to take any photos during the show so I am posting this instead. The cover on the book given to us on our way in to our seats.

Memory was the song popularized by this musical. “Memory” has been recorded by a variety of over 150 artists ranging from Barbra Streisand and Johnny Mathis to Liberace. Barry Manilow’s rendition was a top-40 hit in the U.S.

Here is the Musical “Cats” Lyrics – Memory Lyrics

Song: Memory

Daylight
See the dew on the sunflower
And a rose that is fading
Roses whither away
Like the sunflower
I yearn to turn my face to the dawn
I am waiting for the day . . .

Midnight
Not a sound from the pavement
Has the moon lost her memory?
She is smiling alone
In the lamplight
The withered leaves collect at my feet
And the wind begins to moan

Memory
All alone in the moonlight
I can smile at the old days
I was beautiful then
I remember the time I knew what happiness was
Let the memory live again

Every streetlamp
Seems to beat a fatalistic warning
Someone mutters
And the streetlamp gutters
And soon it will be morning

Daylight
I must wait for the sunrise
I must think of a new life
And I musn’t give in
When the dawn comes
Tonight will be a memory too
And a new day will begin

Burnt out ends of smoky days
The stale cold smell of morning
The streetlamp dies, another night is over
Another day is dawning

Touch me
It’s so easy to leave me
All alone with the memory
Of my days in the sun
If you touch me
You’ll understand what happiness is

Look
A new day has begun

Grab the photo hunt code or join the blogroll
Next week’s theme: Technology

Responses

  1. Very creative choice for the theme.
    I love that song too.
    Happy Saturday!
    Mine’s up too.
    L

  2. I remember that song well. I can see why your daughter loved “Cats”!

  3. What a great Boxing Day tradition! I saw “Cats” at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, and it was fabulous. Great choice for the theme!

    Have a good weekend!

  4. Great memory. I saw the movie. Mine is up too on My Photo Blog

  5. Thanks for sharing that great memory. I think enjoying a beautiful live theatre show with the family leaves memorable moments worth cherishing. Thanks for sharing. Mine is also up.

  6. What a great memory! It brought back memories for me too. I took my mom to see Cats and we were 2 rows away from the stage. Wonderful show! Thanks for visiting:)

  7. What a wonderful ‘new’ tradition. And great memory. Love the song too….but I adore music, period.

    Mine’s posted

  8. Great Hunt!!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  9. Great choice! I never saw Cats but I certainly know the music well.

  10. international ang readers mo Leah 🙂

  11. What a good choice. And, what a great tradition. We should all come up with an idea to find time with our family to experience one new thing every year. Way to go!

    Thanks for stopping by my site!

  12. That’s a great song Leah, great choice for this week! Where are they showing Cats? I actually have never seen that one, only remember the song from music class. Happy Saturday!

  13. What a nice tradition! When I was visiting London with my mom, we meant to go see the Cats – but it was sold out, so we saw Porgy and Bess instead. That was just fine with me, since I love Gerschwinn’s music 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by!

  14. What a fun tradition you are doing every year. It would be fun to see live theatre. Have a great weekend.

  15. We saw Cats in NY before it closed and it was fabulous. When one of my cats died my brother was visiting us. At the burial he sang Memory from Cats… I thought it appropriate.
    Mine is up too.

  16. What a great new tradition! And when I saw the theme for this week that song rang in my head.

    Blessings!

  17. That song certainly says it all for “memory.”
    And what a great gift to receive each year.
    Thanks for stopping by my place.

  18. What a great tradition! I love live theatre. We’re going to be seeing “We Will Rock You” and “Phantom” in the next couple months.

    Mine’s up too 🙂

  19. What a great tradition to build memories upon. I have always wanted to see Cats.

    Thanks for stopping by my site.

  20. What a neat tradition! My family used to go see the Nutcracker every December as a kid.

    Boxing day is my husband’s birthday. 🙂

    Mine is up.

  21. I love broadways… hope I can watch as much as I want to, but they are just way too expensive. and also, my hubby is not really into it.

    This is a great gift from your bro-in-law.

  22. I also love that song, especially Streisand’s and Manilow’s versions.

  23. A fun choice for the theme…

  24. Perfect photo for the theme. I watched Cats on Broadway (about a decade ago or so?). Memory was definitely my favorite part. I was moved to tears because I really felt for Grizabella.

  25. Thanks Leah for dropping by my site. Regarding the magazine layout, head over at http://flickr.com/. Click on flickr services and choose flickr toys. You’ll discover lots of cool photo tricks there. Enjoy!

  26. We don’t have too many live theatre shows in Vancouver. I want to see CATS for a long time!!!!

    I sew one show in New York last year when we had a trip there.

    I like the Song: Memory

    “Daylight
    See the dew on the SUNFLOWER “

    Great choice for the theme!

    Thanks for sharing!

    I will Exercise for Comments!
    Sunflower


Leave a Reply

Categories

