Posted by: Leah | January 11, 2007

Be thankful – Thursday 13 #10

During one of my T13 rounds, I chanced upon this idea. So here it is.

This year I resolve to be thankful for the things I have and so I enumerate

Often times we whine about our jobs and what we dont get from it. Well, let me go the other way and say 13 things I should be thankful about my job.

Thirteen Things 13 things I should be thankful about my job

1. Provides for the daily bread
2. Extra perks like $200/year for life style plan (Weight Watcher’s, nutrional plan, lifeguard course, etc)
3. 4 weeks of paid vacation (been with the company for 13 years now) , I got my extra week o the 10th year
You get 3 weeks to start
4. Since both hubby and I work for same company, we can coordinate our benefits and get re-imbursed 100% for dental and vision expenses
5. Good people to work with – I’ve formed good friendship and learned lots of stuff not necessarily work related most times.
6. I only work 3 days a week (12 hours though) and 1 extra day every other week. so 4 days, 3 days altenate
Meaning I always get extra long weekends
7. Most Canadian holidays fall on Mondays so I get paid. Good thing is I’m off on Mondays so I get to save this time in my holiday bank and then use it later for time-off or cash it in.
8. Pay is not so bad – could be better
9. My hubby is only a phone call away or shall I say a holler away.
10. My PC is fast. I can multi-task between work and other stuff
11. Close to restaurants – so just a walking distance to eat out for lunches (when time calls for it)
12. I’ve learnt a lot over the years and there’s always new to learn
13. After all the restructuring that happened over the last 3 or 4 years I have not been affected and had stayed on. Is it luck or do they want to keep me for good?

I have been in my current position for 4 years now and I am yearning for a change, maybe 2007 will bring that on for me . If it is within the company or somewhere else, I should keep in mind that when opportunities knock, let them in…And take it.

Responses

  1. sounds pretty good 🙂

  2. Sounds like you’re in good company (no pun) ! =)
    Thanks for dropping by , and yes, I do feel a bit better now =)
    Happy Thirteening!

  3. It sounds like you have a good job! Those extra perks sound nice. 🙂

    Happy T13. 🙂

  4. Great list of things to appreciate.
    It sounds like things are moving along very well.
    Have a wonderful Thursday
    My TT is posted

  5. Sounds awesome Leah! #5 is very important, and a 3 or 4 day work week!?… heaven….#8 is true of every job hehe… #10 – no wonder you have so many blogs 🙂 Happy T13!

  6. you’re blessed ate 🙂

  7. i love the 3 work days a week. i would kill for a job like that even if it’s 12hours a day. i love long weekends kasi!! 🙂 more time to do household chores and relax.

    i’d love to join this thursday 13 one of these days. i just hope i will be as diligent as you guys are 🙂

  8. wishing you the best, carreer wise in 2007!

  9. Be thankful! I’ve been looking for work for nearly 8 months. I would love to be able to count 13 things to thankful for!

  10. Good for you leah.now half of toronto will send you their resumes.by the way do you have an oppening for Electrical Engineers? I only need to work two days per week if possible.and be able to make same as regular full time.so let me know dear.I will pay for all your perks don’t worry

  11. you gotta love what you do…and of course do what you love…i think you experience both, right?

  12. such a great job! and hubby is so near.

  13. Excellent plan to remember everything you like about your job–it’s so easy to focus on the negatives. This does sound like a great company to work for.

  14. Looks like you have a good job in a good company!
    Time to take over as CEO in 2007 ! 😉

  15. It sounds like you work for a good company!

    I hope a new opportunity arrives for you in 2007.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  16. Good optimism Leah! Wishing you all the best for 2007 and the years to come (personal & professional life side). Wow, isn’t it difficult to work with hubby?

  17. Very few love working. I guess it’s very rare you can find someone who wakes up in the morning and say “Yay I’ll be going to work again! especially on a Monday. I think this is just normal. You seem to be happy with your work.
    Thanks for passing by.

  18. Thanks for the visit! Good idea for a TT post.
    Clairex

  19. Hi Leah!Im glad to know that you didnt stop blogging! 🙂

    thats so nice!you and ur hubby work in a same company and you just work 3 or 4 times a week?wow!lots of advantages you have huh?and i believe that you have a good life 🙂

    happy new year,Leah!!
    hugs!
    ghee

  20. I also love my job. It offers me very flexible times. I also celebrated 10 years anniversary at work last year, so I also have 4 weeks vacation now. Woo hoo! Your number 4 would have been really great, but my husband’s plans usually don’t have dental and visioncare coverage. It would have been a lot of help because I have two kids who’ve worn braces (one is already done) and 3 of us wears glasses.

  21. hi, leah, tnx for dropping by… im lucky i found this comment link, was looking for a tagbaord, itsw not just 13 😀 about the EB, u can see the “related article” below the date. and it will lead u too ate ghee, Nomna and sash’s links. sorry, was too lazy to post more that time, but saved by pictures, loL!

  22. pinaka the best yung 4 weeks of paid vacation. naku kung ako meron ng ganyang benefits ngayon pa lang nag iisnip na ako kung saan pupunta!

  23. Hi leah, thanks for visiting my site.
    You sounds having a great job in a good company. working 3 days a week, wow…not just good, more better.there’s no reason not to be thankful.
    Happy new year!

  24. I like your list and we should always look at the positive aspects of our work and thank the Lord.

  25. OK, so I’m a few days late. Sounds like the job has some good stuff going…but if you want to really have some job stuff to be thankful for, go work for Google (#1 on Fortune magazine’s list of the best places to work). Seems their employees would be hard pressed to limit their list to 13!

  26. Counting blessing gives us a much better day. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  27. ganda ng work pattern mo, although 12 hrs a day, pero magkakasama o magkakarugtog naman ang off kaya ang effect long weekends lagi, cool!

  28. You sure is doing well in your job. I wish for you a better career for this year 2007.. 🙂

  29. that’s great leah! nice muni-muni…hmmm, i should be thankful for my job also!? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

