Posted by: Leah | February 28, 2007

The Time Traveler’s Wife


I have always been fascinated by time travel. Ever since I first watched the movie “Somewhere in Time” (starring Superman, I mean Christopher Reeve and Jane Eyre, oops, I mean Jane Seymour), any other movie that has a time travel theme would get me interested to watch it. And so when I first ran into the title of this book, I simply had to read it.

I just finished reading The Time Traveler’s wife. It is a beautiful story. A love story.

A man with a time-traveling gene uses his innate abilities to visit his lover at different points in her life.

As I read the book page by page, I felt I was somehow transformed as Claire waiting for my Henry to come home. Feeling the hopes and the joys of being in love with someone who changes in front of me dramatically in years of my life. The love was so intense, I felt I could be there and not regret it because of such undying love given and received. Or sometimes I felt as though I was Henry travelling in the past and at the same time waiting so much to be in the presesnt.

I know I am such a hopeless romantic. I laughed and I cried in this story. I travelled back in time and into the future with Henry. Although I was not the author, I wished I could change the words so I can let the moments linger a little longer and the time spent between Henry and Claire can be prolonged.

But I suppose any story must have an ending. Was it sad? Was it happy one? I think it all depends on how you perceive it as the reader.

Jennifer Aniston and Brad Pitt made headlines when they bought the film rights to Niffenegger’s novel before it was released to the public. Imagine if they had the chance to film the movie? It is supposed to be in production now, but I’m not really sure who will play the main characters. I just have to wait and see.

I can only write about how I felt towards this book. If you want to read a better and more professional review, Click here.

And just so I can hold to the romance of it all. Here’s a link to a video of the theme song from Somewhere in Time.

Responses

  1. You are a hopeless romantic Leah! When I have more time to read non-textbooks, I want to finish LOTR…. whenever that would be. How you been doing? Those pigs are my mother’s, she and my brother are both born in the year of the pig. Hope to see you tomorrow for T13!

  2. Hi Angelo, I am indeed a romantic. I like to linger at the moment, I can re-read the book again..really.

    I hope you’ll find the time to read more interesting books without so much medical jargons.

  3. Lovely entry. Now I want to read it. Now all I need is time!

    I’ve always loved the concept of travelling through time. It inspires dreams and allows the mind to wander. What a lovely place to be!

  4. it’s been a long time noong nakabasa ako ng love story na book, siguro try ko to since u mentioned Somewhere in Time …. I’m a big fan of that movie 🙂 and I love the themesong 🙂

  5. hi Carmi, thank you. I do highly recommend the book. I think it would be wonderful to travel in time.

    Melai, if you were thinking of a new book to read, then this will be it. And yes, Somewhere in Time is an all time favourite.

  6. Are you kidding me??? I’ve read this book too! And not only that, SOMEWHERE IN TIME is one of my most favourite movie of all time! Although I’ve seen it years after i was shown.

    Like you, I guess I’m also a self- proclaimed hopeless romantic. though many men see crying as a form of weakness, I do cry over things sometimes.

    I like the book THE TIME MACHINE by CG Whells TOO. It’s less romantic though, but I like how the lead character go back in time (in this case go back into the future) once again to be with the girl he loves.(Okay, you can cringe now).

  7. ohhh…like your entry today Leah 🙂

    I’ve never seen Somewhere in Time though. I’ll check out the book 🙂

  8. you are a good book critic… you’ve convinced me to check this book out though i’ve heard about it a lot… 😉

  9. Sounds like a lovely book. 🙂

  10. Hi Rey, Kindred spirtis we are.
    A hopeless romantic man..now that’s a rarity. Men who cry are sensitive and in touch with their feelings.

    I will checkout that book “The Time machine” (i think that was made into a movie too?)

  11. Verns, Linnor, Ipanema,
    thank you

  12. Oh, I want to read that. I think Pinayhekmi also recommended that book. I also love Somewhere in Time.

  13. Hi Leah. I’m also a romantic at heart and I loved the way you described the book. It sounds like a good book worth buying. Thanks for sharing.

  14. great post, leah! I love Somewhere in Time too! Kaya lang si Jane Seymour ang starring nun, not Jane Eyre 😛 haha! Although, Jane Eyre is another great romantic novel I’d like to re-read. Right now I’m re-reading pride and prejudice. Now I’ll have to put this book next on the lineup 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  15. oh, thanks too for the youtube link…I hadn’t seen the movie or heard the theme in so long…brought back lots of memories. Nasenti ako 🙂 hehe! babaw ko talaga.

  16. Hi Toe,
    I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. Let me know.

  17. Hi Rachel, thanks a lot. Hope you get the chance to read it too.

  18. Hi JMom,
    Naku thanks for the correction. I even looked it up pero I ended up typing the wrong name pa rin. Good catch. Actually , I do plan to read Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice as well.
    Hope you get the chance to read this recommendation soon.
    Aha! my plan worked, gusto ko masenti rin kayo …

  19. na-curious ako! when i pass by the bookstore this weekend, i will definitely look for this book. i love romantic stories. i easily cry while watching or reading.

    sayang, it would have been nice to see brad pitt and jennifer aniston if ever there’s a movie for this. i like them more than brad and angelina. i don’t know, maybe because i feel like brad betrayed jennifer and angelina stole brad. anyway, whatever 🙂

  20. Do check it out Gracita. It is indeed a good read.
    It would have been nice to see them take on the roles on the main characters of this book. Sayang. You know, I’ve accepted that its now Brad and Angelina. Noon, inis talaga ako. I still like Brad despite it all. I’ve got real hot photos of him.

  21. sometimes i am so amazed at the power of those writers who can elicit a tear or a smile from the reader.

    will definitely have this book in my list. but as one of your commenters said, i have to buy time first he he

  22. Hi Bing!
    Time …what a precious commodity . Hope you get to bargain some so you can marvel on the magic of words of one of the many authors who was able to make me cry.

  23. hmmm…i’ve just finished mitch albom’s ‘the five people you meet in heaven’ at akoy nag senti, at heto na naman, mukhang ako’y dadaan ulit dun sa barnes&noble para hanapin ang librong ‘to :))

  24. soweee…napadalawang pindot ako 😦

  25. I also read the link that you provided- the synopsis of the novel. The book does seem to be a very interesting & spellbinding read. I have to go to the library soon to look for the book! Thanks to you! =) Parang iiyak na naman yata ako nito.

  26. I’ve read The Time Traveler’s Wife as well and fell in love with the story. Very beautifully written, isn’t it? I’m looking forward to re-reading it. The first time I went through the book, I greedily ate up the chapters. I was just to excited to see what would happen next! I want to re-read it so I can relish each chapter more. If ever this is turned into a movie, I hope it has the same charm and spirit of the novel.

  27. one of the few books that my wife and i were able to finish. there was a time that i was travelling too much, that she used the pen name “Time Traveller’s Wife” to leave comments in my blog…very nice….indeed. and great review.

  28. My 7 yr old son is so fascinated with time travel movies, I’m having a hard time explaining to him na movie lang yun.

  29. Hi Dangkin,
    I read Mitch Albom’s Tuesdays with Morrie. O sige, ako rin hanap ko yan bago nya. Crying is a good theraphy too.

  30. Gina, I should visit my library too. Kasi magastos din bumili lagi ng books. Tapos , they just gather dust later in the book case. Hopefully the library has a lot of copies.

  31. Hi Toni, I think your blog was where I found this title first. Thanks for the recommendation. Like you, I devoured the book as well and went really fast.A day after I finished the book, I opened it somewhere in the middle and started reading again. Definitely, relish and be a part of the story again. Enjoy!

  32. Thanks Junnie,
    I asked my husband to read it too but I think it will need a bit more of convincing. I’d love it too if he can relate to what I wrote here.
    Ang sweet nyo talaga dalawa lagi.

  33. Hi Ann,
    wow, 7 yrs old and fascinated already with this theme. Yes, I can imagine how hard to explain it. I had to explain to my daughter the concept of TV kasi gusto rin nya pumunta sa loob ng TV.

  34. I’m on a bookring waiting list for this one at bookcrossing.com. I’ve heard tons of good stuff about it.

  35. Hi Mercy,
    I hope you dont have to wait too long. It’ll be worth the wait.
    I’ll check that bookring


Leave a Reply

Categories

