Posted by: Leah | April 7, 2007

100th post – Reflecting………

Many moons ago, I used to be a frequent church goer, daily mass attendee and even a choir singer. I even completed quite a number of simbang gabi (early morning masses during the Christmas season). Those days are long and gone. As if in the passage of time, my spiritual life seem to blow away as if the time carries it away.

Gone were the days when I had daily conversation with God, when I prayed for my loved ones, the departed, the souls in purgatory, the sick and all those that needed my prayers, I thanked God for al lthe blessings in my life, I asked for forgiveness and of course who would forget a prayer for things or events that God may fulfill them in my life. I think I reserve these prayers now for Sunday masses and in many cases I manage to fail the subject on Concentration 101.

Good Friday went. And now as Black Saturday commences, I try to reflect on how my spiritual life is. I thought , I should try to do abstinence.

I told my husband that on good Friday, we will not eat meat. I also thought I’d give it a try and abstain from anything that I might enjoy. And so I resolved that I will not have anything to eat that will make me happy; i.e. sweets, sugar, etc. and no blogging.

Glad to say that there was no meat today. I had some bread (pandesal) and egg for breakfast. Some tea (with sugar though)…..Supper, salad with my home made dressing (olive oil and balsamic vinegar and some added spices), a sprinkle of feta cheese and some olives. And I started blogging close to midnight. Pretty good huh?

Oh wait I forgot to mention the in between breakfast and supper. Just on a side note, I did make proper meals for my daughter. She is exempt from the fasting. So here’s the story; Yesterday, my sister and I met for an early dinner and I thought we should have something sweet for dessert and suffice to say, we went over to a new Filipino store and $40 later, I came out with 2 bags of Pinoy goodies , including freshly baked hot pandesal.

And so my resolution to avoid anything I enjoyed tempted me this Good Friday and I succumbed to the call of the “ube halaya” (purple yam) . I devoured a good plate of such. I guess, this went under the category lunch for my abstinence on said day. Bad girl.

As for my dwindling spiritual life. In faith I live, and in faith I walk and trust that I will somehow get up and be good again.

For now, I resolve to pray the rosary before I go to bed.

Happy Easter to all.

Incidentally, this is my 100th post.

So I’m giving out something special to someone. Winner will be chosen from the commenters of this post.

Responses

  1. Happy 100th post! May that ember of faith be fanned into a warm glowing fire soon. Happy Easter.

  2. Yehey! Happy 100th post Leah.

    Jeez…I was like a goat the whole Friday. We only ate veggies and all those leafy stuff. Naturally nilunok ko lang lahat sabay inom ng tubig hehe

    Oh well hopefully enough na yun but I highly doubt that hehe Like you…minsan nawawala na rin na rin yung nakaugalian.

    Happy Easter!

  3. happy 100th post!

    and oh, dear, do we call it “hiatus” in spiritual life? your resolve in praying the rosary tonight is a “seed”. it will come, maybe pray some more? maybe it’s just because you have been very busy in the past? i have gone on early retirement in october 2006. from that date till this day, i have been going to mass everyday, not that i call myself religious, i am very far from that. it’s just that at church in the morning, i find inner peace…that much i can give myself, my quiet time.

  4. Happy 100th post and Happy Easter! 🙂

  5. Wow! 100 na! Congratulations! 🙂

    Awww, as for the sacrificing, you’re not alone. I tried not to eat too much. I tried not to eat meat. I tried not to surf the net. But… oh well. I told myself nalang for as long as I’m not mean to anyone or hurting anyone, it’s okay. Sacrifices don’t solely mean having to lessen or lose something; it can be being exra-nice to someone you wouldn’t really care for normally or giving someone a chance instead of choosing not to listen to them. My thoughts. 🙂

  6. Your post reminds me of the time I asked my daughter why she had become such an infrequent churchgoer. Her answer stunned me to silence: “Mom, I think if I did someone a good turn — smiled at and chatted with the lonely, fed someone hungry, helped a classmate with her waterloo subject — that would pay honor to God than all churchgoing and hallelujahs and papuris can do.”

    So I guess you’re okay.

    Same thing with abstinence — I guess it is a ritual that symbolizes sacrifice. There are substis that we can do na baka nga mas meaningful.

    Ay, you don’t have to listen to this weird Christian. hahaha.

    But I assure you a 100 per cent — you’re fine.

  7. Hi Leah, Happy Easter to you and your family!! I’m afraid like you, I have gotten away from the religious rituals. I have been remiss (again…) in providing my girls the spiritual significance of holy week so for them it’s just another holiday when we get to cook something special for dinner and easter egg hunts.

  8. oh, and congrats on the 100th post! I totally missed mine. hehe! I’ll try to remember to announce my next milestone post.

  9. Hi Leah, you do not need to “be good again”, you’re already good 🙂 Spritual life has its ups and downs just like the rest of life. The beauty of a relationship with God is that no matter how many times we turn away from Him, or how far we stray, He’s always waiting for us to return with open arms… the perpetual Prodigal Father. Prayer life does not have to be so formal and structured, a simple “good morning Lord” is already a prayer for me… you know that Psalm I mentioned in my last post? Do you know that about an hour or so before I opened up that hotel bible, I had the audacity to ask God if He even hears me when I talk to Him, or if He is even listening or cares…. Psalm 121 was the response from Him….

    I’ll pray for you tonight at Easter Vigil, that your spiritual excercises will help you to grow in your faith-life, don’t be so hard on yourself, the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak…. just do your best… what’s important to God is how you treat your neighbour…

    God continue to bless you and your family this Easter!

  10. Oh and congrats on your 100th post! Cheers!

  11. Self-examination is good enough for God they say – good for you Leah ! Well, the weather wasn’t nice in the first place and it added gloom to the holy week. Happy Easter to you and your family 🙂

  12. …I had fish&chips, Good Friday… and OMG, I had pork stew tonight… sacrilegious!
    Ube halaya… my favourite!

    Happy Easter
    and
    Happy 100th… more, more, more 🙂

  13. I suggest ,if you may, to look in your bible at

    Galatians 5:22:

    On the other hand, the fruitage of the spirit is love, joy, peace, long-suffering, kindness, goodness, faith,

    23 mildness, self-control. Against such things there is no law.

    Hard to follow because of our imperfections, but we can try.

    It works kasi sa Bossings and ke Butler. Nakaya ko, cant believe it myself, lol!
    It keeps us spiritually strong also.
    All the best, from Lola Fran! nakikibisiat, kahit 1am na rito, haha!

  14. Leah,
    I have to take stock of my spiritual life, medyo napapabayaan ko na rin…

    Wishing you and your loved ones the blessings of Eastertide…

    YAHOOOOO to 100th post! Looking forward to more!

  15. Hi Leah — congratulations on your 100th post! Yey! muni-muni is a cool word ‘noh? Yep, been busy lately that’s why there are gaps in my posts, but my multiply blog is what’s keeping my friends updated http://mommaniysa.multiply.com/journal

    Will visit your muni-munis every once in a while. God bless. Happy Easter!

  16. Happy Easter, Leah. Oh and congrats on the 100th post! 🙂

  17. Congrats. on your 100 th post.
    It seems you are going the opposite way Leah.Usually when people get older they tend to become more religous and more of a church attendees .they first think that they are closer to their end.second the hormone level is not driving them crazy like when they are teen and you know what i mean.third is probably the unfortunate ones (from all aspects)they tend to pray more often for example to get rich and when they get it they forget god right away.
    so i am not sure which one of these categories do u fall into??
    By the way ,is it okay for a vegetarian man to eat meat on good friday?can we call that abstinence.
    finally,i hope i could be the winner of this post.happy easter to all.

  18. Congratulations on your 100th post Leah. Like you, I never thought it would happen but I’ve been remiss at going to church. Do you think it has something to do with living abroad? I still keep the faith though and I pray a lot. Hehe, $40 worth of goodies? I totally love ube!

    Happy Easter Leah! 🙂

  19. Like you, my spiritual life has been down lately, too bad. Anyway I’ll be catching up too.
    Congrats on your 100th post. Happy Easter.

  20. Happy Easter…

  21. Congrats on 100 posts. I also reached that milestone recently but forgot to note it on my 100th post. 😀

  22. we all go through ups and downs in our spiritual lives, but the most important thing is we realize it and do something about it.

    Happy Easter!

  23. 100 posts! Congrats!!!
    Happy Easter…

  24. Wow, your 100th post is worth remembering! Just like Easter, your faith is indeed blossoming.
    God bless you!

  25. Congratulations! One for being able to abstain, and two for your 100th post. Keep on blogging!

  26. congrats on your 100th post!..and hope you had a fun easter 🙂

  27. Ang ganda ng timing ng 100th post mo, it’s holy week.

    When we were in the phils, pag holy week naiisip agad yung outing, bisita iglesia, family reunion..etc. Kung kailan andito kami sa place na bawal ang lahat dun kami nagkaroon ng time to reflect. We really find time to pray kahit patago.

    Happy Easter!

  28. Congrats on your 100th post.

    Sometimes I feel guilty when I sleep in the middle of a prayer without finishing it. I often miss Sunday masses but I always pray each day.

    Praying the rosary is a good thing. We used to do it daily when I was younger. Sadly, I didn’t continue the family tradition when I got married and lived in our house but we try to pray the rosary from time to time.

    Hope you had a lovely Easter celebration. Take care!

  29. 100? Alright!!!

    And may your faith grow.

  30. Congrats for your 100th post and Happy Easter!

  31. I’m impressed that you attempted… it’s hard to open the door again on something that we closed. I have been doing the same thing – trying to let God back into my life… trying to teach my boys about all the teachings – but most importantly, what it all means. We, as parents, have so many responsibilities to our children, and so many things we are expected to teach them.

    I had my newborn baptized on Monday morning and the Deacon said something that hit home – not only are we teaching are children when we sit down and talk to them, but we are teaching them through our actions all day long. How true that it… they are constantly watching you – what you say and what you do and how you do it. Maybe we as parents need to start thinking about how our actions are being interpreted by our children.

  32. awww,bigla akong nag crave for pandesal and ube halaya…hmm,yum yummy!

    cogratulations,Leah!yest,i just checked my posts and also got th eidea of posting my 100th post,coincidently,haha!im surprised to see your post.but i think my 100th post will take months pa rin coz im slow,cant find lots of time to blog 🙂

    mahirap yata talagang imaintain ang spiritual activities natin pag nasa ibang bansa tayo..likewise here..i cant even attend mass regularly..nice to hear that you were able to do the fasting..we dont eat meat din on Holy Fridays 🙂

  33. Wow, 100th post? That’s indeed something to celebrate. I hope I can sustain my interest in blogging up to my 100th… as my interest in continuing has been quickly fading… recently.

    I haven’t always been a devout, practising Roman Catholic, but I really do believe in Jesus… God. My faith does help me to get through the tough times when I feel weak, miserable and alone. Really.

    Wishing you, your family and readers… a belated Happy Easter. God bless ya.

  34. Congratulations Leah for your 100th post ! That is why I am thankul that we have a Filipino priest here in Marseille. We always celebrate the mass in Tagalog 3x a month and once in English because of the children who were born here who understand more of dialect (Ilokano than Tagalog)! There is also a religious organization wherein I am a part of it, I know you are familiar with Couple’s for Christ!

    It is not the question how many times you pray and how many times you go to church but it’s a matter of keeping your personal relationship with HIM, have a fervent faith, do good things, accept your sin and ask forgiveness!

    Belated Happy Easter !

  35. Belated Happy Easter Leah!
    I gave up blogging for Holy Week. Not entirely by choice the whole time by due to technical problems and things that needed immediate attention.

  36. Congrats on your centenary post! may they evolve 100 times more. 🙂

    cheers. 😀

  37. I think almost everybody experiences highs and lows in their spiritual lives. The important thing is that you know what to do to keep yourself in the faith, how to keep your relationship with God alive. I do admire people who are steadfast in their faith and practices. It takes a lot of effort and devotion.

    And yes, happy 100th post! 🙂

  38. Leah! I had the same thought–that is, to celebrate my 100th post, but you beat me to it, so..congrats! Hehe. Doncha worry about not following through with your resolution–its the thought that counts, di ba? 🙂 He still loves you, THAT I am sure. Cheers!

  39. the fact that you recognize your shortcomings as a Christian makes you a better one. and don’t worry, abstaining from your favorite food doesn’t make you look bad in His eyes.

    congrats on the 100th post! i hope i’m that someone who will win something 🙂

  40. “by not abstaining from your favorite food…” pala dapat yun 🙂

  41. I am ashamed to admit that I get lazy praying. Good thing our Lord forgives easily. 🙂 Happy easter!

  42. happy 100th post Leah 🙂
    uhmmn for me, it’s okay to eat anything on Holy Week, It definitely won’t affect your relationship with the LORD but since you realized that you’re not that prayerful anymore..siguro put more fire on your faith na lang… yung mas stronger diba 🙂 speaking of rosary, pareho tayo ng pramis 🙂

  43. God bless you. =)

  44. Wow! What a day and event to mark your 100th post. I’m sure that faith will always be there even if get side tracked a bit. Belated easter.

  45. me thinks it’s not the number of prayers, it’s not how often you go to church, it’s not about fasting on good friday.. as you said it’s about faith.. so it’s not because i have almost the same spiritual status as you means that i’m a bad girl..right? ok, ok, i’m a bad girl alright, .. as long as you dont harm others and you follow the christian way (minus the church, the rosary and the prayers).. you’re a good girl. amen.

    and opps, by the way, if i win, i’ll send you my address no problem hehe..

  46. happy easter po… conversion happend not only during lenten or easter season, its everyday.. maybe falling leaves on our way evangelize us, that life here on earth ends too….

  47. Congratulations on your 100th post!

    Basta ba di ka nakakasakit ng kapwa and be a good person within, God is still working through you, di ba?

    Have a great weekend ahead!

  48. happy weekend,Leah!
    so,whos th elucky winner pala? 😀

  49. Happy 100th post ate! God loves you 🙂 More entries to come…

  50. 1 Hello PastorMac’s Ann
    thanks a lot , your wishes means a lot to me. Hope you had a great Easter as well.

    2. Hi Verns
    Thanks for the greetings.

    I guess our simple act of abstaining from meat on Good Friday should be a sign of sacrifice for that day. Magandang sumunod sa nakaugalian na miski mahirap.

    3. Hello Sexy mom
    I find peace as well every time I step inside a church. Its got this certain ambiance and feeling of someting holy. Its good that you now find the time to go daily to hear mass. I guess, the hectic schedule of life prevents most people in doing so.
    As for my seed, I only reached upto the 3rd mystery and I fell asleep. I plan to be more successful in doing the whole thing next time.

    4. Thanks Ipanema . Hope you had a Good Easter too.

    5. Hello Toni,
    Its true, fasting can be done in so many ways. And helping others is definitely one good act to do. Time flies indeed, thanks for your greetings.

  51. 6. Hi annamanila,..
    Thanks for your kind words and for saying I’m still fine. You know what? I do agree with your daughter, “Whatsoever we do to the least of our brothers, we have done it to Him.”

    7. Hello JMom
    Alam mo , ako rin, I have not taught my daughter the rituals for the holy week. I hope that as she grows bigger, I can be a better example. And like your kids, she looks forward the most to the easter egg hunting, which incidentally, she had tons of fun from.

    And thanks for your greetings. I planned for my 100th post…even wrote a draft but ended up writing something totally different.

    7. Hello Angelo de los Angeles.
    Thank you so much for your prayers and your greetings. And for reminding me that a one-liner greetings to God is good enough for Him.

    8. Hello BW
    Thanks…did your daughter enjoy any egg hunting last Sunday?
    What a way to greet Easter. We had a white Easter and a Green Christmas. Funny huh?

    9. Hi Pining..
    Thanks …ube is one of my fave desserts. Fish and ships on Friday is good. Nothing bad about that. The pork stew is ok as long as not on the Friday.

    10. Hello lola Fran,
    Thanks for the readings. If we follow in good heart, it should be attainable. Better said than done for sure. Good that you can practice it with your Bossings and the Butler too.

  52. 11. Hi Gina,
    Like our health, we have to take care of our spiritual life as well. Madaling sabihin, mahirap gawin. Holy Week is certainly a good time to reflect.

    Thanks for your greetings and for being a regular reader.

    12. Hello Faye…
    Thanks…I’ll drop over and visit you at multiply as well.

    13. Hello snglguy,
    Thanks so much.

    14. Hello Anonymous,.
    Is that right? As you mature you tend to be more spiritual? I guess, we change our spiritual beliefs and the level of our relationship with God as we age. Not sure exactly which category I’m in, but I’m hoping to be part of the positive ones
    If you eat meat while being a vegetarian then that will go against being vegetarian.
    Thanks for commenting. Hope you’ll leave your name next time.

    15. Hello Toe said…
    Not sure if living in a different place makes us forget or miss our duties. It could be. Philipines being so Catholic and so many churches around sure does remind us of going to church often. Maybe it depends on who and what community circle you belong to. When I was active with CFC, I tend to be more prayerful. But it all depends on us as individuals in the end, di ba?

  53. 16. Hello Marie,
    I hope you had the chance to catch up with the lenten season past.
    Thanks for the greetings.

    17. Hello Dodong
    Hope your Easter was great too.

    18. Hi Wil
    Thanks. Hopefully, you wont forget your next milestone.

    19. Hi HiPnCooLMoMMa,
    Its good then that I recognize my needs to lift my spiritual life up.
    How was your Easter? Hope it was good like mine.

    20. Hello Agring,
    Thanks so much.

  54. 21. Hi malaya
    My 100th post is indeed a milestone. Ibig sabihin, I’m still enjoying blog-life. And I wish my spiritual life blossoms even more as this spring finally blooms on as well.
    Thanks.

    22. Hi Jho,
    Thank you for your well wishes.

    23. Hello Dangkin,
    Thanks and Easter was great fun, hope yours was too.

    24. Hi Ann,
    Oo nga, I had a different post I was planning to publish sana pero when it came to posting , I decided to write this one instead. Very apt di ba?

    Bakit naman patago ang praying dyan? That’s hard to do. Anyway, di naman kasi tayo as showy as other so I guess its OK.

    Thanks pala.

    25. Hello Rachel,
    Ako rin, nakatulog dun sa promise ko na mag-rosary. Di bale, I try to offer each decade for the needy. I try to teach my daughter to but its a bit hard. That’s why its better to pray when we’re in the church, less distraction.
    Thanks and hope your Easter was good.

  55. 26. Thanks Paul. I sure hope it does.

    27. Hello Sidney..
    Thanks a lot.

    28. Hi Jay_say,
    Congrats on your kid’s baptism. Last Sunday there were 4 who were baptized in our Church. Its a joyous event. And its true, whatever we do or say, our kids pick them up. We are their best example so we shold try to live that.

    29 Hello Ghee,
    Sarap talaga, I think I will go back to that store to buy pandesal often.

    I look forward to your 100th post.

    Sabi nga rin ni Toe, maybe because we are so far away from the Pinoy settings of church-going and all the religious days and affairs, we tend to forget them. Maybe its true but we should always try di ba?

    Pasensya na ata ngayon lang ako nakasagot uli. I am announcing winner now.

    30. Hello fruityoaty,
    We all go through some blogging dryness I guess. Mine was more like a week or 2 but I always miss it somehow. Hopefully, you’ll find the spirit come back. I enjoy reading your posts so keep on.

    You’re right, as long as we believe and we keep the faith alive, takin gon tough things gets easier.

    Thanks for the greetings. Hope your Easter was great too.

  56. 31. Hello Haze,
    There’s also a Pinoy mass here I think every Sunday but its far from where I live. Buti naman at you get the chance to attend that.

    I used to be an active member of SFC and then moved on to CFC. However, my hubby and I became inactive a couple of years ago due to some personal reasons. Frankly, I miss it. I keep in touch with my household though so I always know what’s new plus my elder brother is still an active member. Its a good community.

    32. Hello KK,
    Whew, a whole week off from blogging. Its good nataon sa holy week ang technical issues. Hope you had the chance to get on with other thngs in life.

    33. Hi Zherwin,
    Thanks so much for the well wishes. I appreciate it a lot.

    34. Hello Kathy,
    I guess I’m not alone in the boat of spiritual waves. Thanks for your thoughts and greetings.

    35. Hi Gypsy,
    Its the thought that counts indeed. And thanks for your thoughts and well wishes.
    Hey, there’s no rule you cant publish your 100th post just because I did. In fact, I got the idea from reading other blogs that published such milestone. I’m sure yours will have a different content.

  57. 36. Hello Gracita
    Thanks for your greetings.

    37. Hello Tani,.
    As long as we realize our short comings, I’m sure god accepts us with open arms all the time.
    Thanks.

    38. Hi Melai ,
    A prayer a day keep the devil away… Keep the fire of faith burning and more rosary prayers …sana.
    thanks for the greetings

    39. Hi ralphT,
    Thanks so much

    40. Hello Ferdz,
    Thank you. And you are right , keeping the faith is good. All the time.

  58. 41. Hi Analyse,
    You are certainly right about that. And if you win, I’ll defintely ask for your details. Good luck.

    42. Hi bro. Vince,
    Thanks for your kind thoughts. In everyday life , we should strive to connect with God for sure.

    43. Hello Watson,
    Thanks a lot. Be good to others ..that’s for sure. I just happen to want to get so much out of the Lenten meaning.

    44. Hi Michelle,
    Thanks coousin.

  59. Hi Leah. At least you were a good girl for avoiding meat. I never fasted during the Holy Week. Had shots of brandy on Maundy Thursday, beer on Black Saturday and brandy again on Easter Sunday from noon to midnight. Hah! I spared Good Friday because nobody wanted to drink with me. Hehe.

    Too bad I didn’t comment on this post the first time I read it. I should have been among the people who had a chance at winning something nice. Oh well. 🙂

  60. Hi Leah

    Well I managed to forego blogging during Lent. I’ve never eaten meat on Lenten Fridays. I did the traditional Visita Iglesia on Maundy Thursday, but I hardly consider myself religious. I believe that our relationship with a Higher Being is very intimate and personal.

    Congrats on your 100th post 🙂

  61. Hi Abaniko,
    oo nga…sayang…next time ..leave your mark, ok?
    But Thanks for leaving a comment this time around.

    Hi Daphne,
    Nice to see you back. And good for you to have done so much for your personal lenten retreat. Its true, its all personal.

    Thanks btw.


Leave a Reply

Categories

