Posted by: Leah | May 12, 2007

On Being a Mother

Update: Thank you all for your kind words and your heartfelt greetings. On a side note, I always listen to this radio station called Chum FM. Listen in or read this letter that will surely melt your heart. It won a contest. Too bad I did not enter the birthday letter I wrote my mom. Maybe next year.

What a joy this gift of motherhood has been to me. Although I had a great bonding experience in the 9 months my daughter was inside me, the moment she cried out and responded to the outside world, I knew she is her own person from then on. I’ve only been a mother for the last 6 years. There is a lot of learning experience through it all. Sleepless nights in the first few years of my mothering life, amazing realization of what a childhood is from a mother’s point of view and the tactics of disciplining a girl in the modern 21st century.

I am not at all a perfect mother. I think I fail quite a few times on several aspects of it. But I get up and ponder on what it is to be a child, on how it is not as easy as I always think it is to be a kid. And then I try, I really try to be the best mom I can be.

Lots and lots of affection , that’s what I give my daughter. She deserves to be loved and she gives a 101% back the affection I shower her. My heart grows and grows every time I hear “I love you mommy”.

So for all the mommies in the world….let your heart grow a thousand folds with the sincere showers of love your kids will give you today.

Happy Mother’s Day.

and to my Nanay, I love you.

Responses

  1. Everytime I hear my kids saying I love you mama I feel like I am a perfect mom for them.

    Happy mother’s day!

  2. and to you Leah, a Happy one too!

  3. happy mother’s day, mommy leah! 🙂

    enjoy your weekend!

  4. Hi Leah,
    there`s no perfect mom,but you could be the best mom ^_^

    Happy Mother`s Day to you.
    get hugs and kisses from your daughter 🙂

  5. Happy Mothers Day!

  6. This is a nice reflection on mother’s day.

    Happy mother’s day to you too.

  7. Hi Leah,

    There are NO perfect moms… but we try our best to be the “perfect mom” to our kids.

    Happy mother’s day!!!

  8. Happy Mother’s Day!

  9. happy mother’s day, Leah!

    we also learn as our children grow. we learn from them.

  10. Happy Mother’s Day, Leah! 🙂

  11. Happy Mother’s Day to you Leah ! Being a mother is the true essence of a woman !

  12. Belated Happy Mother’s day! Our little kids’ “i love you” is the sweetest to the ear. Nothing can really beat motherhood – in terms of rewards and fulfillment as well as in challenges and difficulties! 🙂

  13. Hi Leah!
    I hope you had a wonderful mothers’ day!

  14. Hearing my daughter says “I love you Mommy melts my heart” Belated Happy Mother’s Day!

  15. your daughter is lucky girl to have you as a mommy:-)
    Happy mother’s day!

  16. Thanks so much to all for your greetings.

    Here’s a lovely letter that will surely melt your heart

    http://www.chumfm.com/Contests/ContestDetails.asp?ContestID=797

  17. Hi Leah. First of all, thanks for the beautiful necklace. I wasn’t able to pick it up from the post office last Friday but I got it today. It’s so lovely! I’ll make a blog post about it soon.

    Hope you had a lovely mother’s day celebration with your loved ones. Thanks for visiting and reading about mine. I appreciate your kind thoughts.

    I love hearing my son say the words I love you. This year, he was able to say Happy Mother’s Day and it felt really great. The words by itself was already a great gift.

    Take care!

  18. super late reply…

    a Mom I met (who is a babywearing and breastfeeding advocate) was recently interviewed in the INC channel for Mother’s Day… she mentioned something about how we should hope to be GOOD ENOUGH mothers… for we can never be faultless, we can never stop being human, we will always have our weaknesses and issues and down times…

    wanting to be a GOOD mother may be more subjective and relative than wanting to be GOOD ENOUGH… and at least there’s that awareness that sooner or later, as our child grows, we can only really do so much… the rest is up to them. we can give them all the time in the world to read to them, but if they never really appreciated the act of love, then they would never be able to pay it forward…


Leave a Reply

Categories

