Posted by: Leah | May 15, 2007

Tulip Tree


We planted this tree on my daughter’s 1st birthday.
On spring time, it blooms with these lovely yellow flowers.
The tulip tree is part of the magnoliaceae family and it smells good.

Tree

I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.
A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;
A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;
A tree that may in Summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;
Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.
Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.

— Joyce Kilmer

Responses

  1. That’s a tree? How gorgeous and fresh-looking it is!! I’ve never seen one quite like it. It’s so pretty!

  2. That’s a tree? How gorgeous and fresh-looking it is!! I’ve never seen one quite like it. It’s so pretty!

  3. It’s beautiful! How nice that you planted it on your daughter’s birthday. It makes it twice as special because of the occasion.

  4. That’s a lovely tree. What a wonderful way to celebrate your daughter’s birthday with that tree in full bloom! 🙂

  5. lovely!

  6. Very nice! I would also want to do something like that. At least me kasabay lumaki yung daughter mo and would somehow remind you of that time as well.

  7. Oh my, I remember how they made us memorize this poem back in grade school! And I’m glad I did.

  8. Leah,
    What a sweet way (aside from being nature and environment friendly) to celebrate the birthday of your darling daughter. The flowers and the tree must give you a lot of pleasure knowing what it (they) signify!

  9. I love tulip trees then! for the longest time I would see these trees and wonder what kind it is. Now I know 🙂

    Belated Happy Mother’s day!

  10. Lagi lang flowers nakikita ko na Tulip, ganyan pala ang tree nya.

  11. I’ve never heard of a tulip tree before. That is so beautiful. You’ve really left your mark in this world Leah… you bore a child and planted a tree. 🙂

  12. Here we just call it Magnolia 🙂
    Sa atin ice cream yun di ba? ..just tryin to be funny 🙂
    Very pretty indeed!

  13. A tulip tree? that’s very nice and I love yellow flowers.

  14. Oh that’s what these trees are called? I see more of the pink versions here. You have a lovely tree.

  15. Hi Toni,
    At first we thought it was going to grow with pink flowers. My mother-in-law has a big tree in her front yard with beautiful flowers in spring time. so when it came out to be yellow, we were quite delighted. It really is pretty.

    Hi Rachel,
    It makes it easy to remember how old the tree is. And yes, it’s also a symbol of my daughter’s growth.

    Hello kathy,
    Definitely! The blooms dont last long but always worth the wait.

    Hi JO,
    Thanks.

    Hi Ferdz,
    It was my hubby’s idea. Hope you’ll share with us one day if ever you grow a tree. Maybe as a mark for your wedding day? Kasabay ng pag-lago ng inyong pag-ibig (nyeh!hehe)

    Hi Makis,
    It is a great poem and I love it too.

    Hello Gina,
    Environmentally friendly nga.

    Hi JMom,
    We learn something everyday. Thanks.
    9:00 PM

    HI Ann,
    I think the flowers you were referring too are the ones that comes from the tulip plant/bulbs. This tree’s flowers resembles the tulip flowers that’s why its called that.

    Hi Toe,
    Thanks. It will grow bigger in many more years. Hopefully we can stay longer in our house. If not, we might dig it up when we move.

    Hello Pining,
    I guess it can be called Magnolia tree too since its from that same family. I love Magnolia ice cream with ube and macapuno…lol

    Hi Marie,
    Yellow flower are my favourite.

    Hi KK,
    I see a lot of the pink flowers here too. And they’re pretty as well.

  16. Yes, it is a tulip tree. Although it is in the magnolia family, it is quite a different tree. I hope you have kept in mind when you planted it that this tree will get very large, unlike most magnolias. It is known to be the tallest hardwood tree reaching up to 200 feet high at maturity with a trunk as large as 5 foot across. Quite a magnificent tree indeed, if you have the space for it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

