Posted by: Leah | May 22, 2007

Oh My Gulay!!!

Toni is hosting Lasang Pinoy’s Oh My Gulay round and I decided that this is a great medium to share one of my favourite salads. Who knew that I’d love red cabbage? You will too, once you try this recipe. Do check out Toni’s link for more details on how you can join too.

Cabbage Salad

1 red cabbage – chopped

Dressing:

½ cup white sugar
½ cup oil
½ cup white vinegar
½ cup water
2 tsp soya sauce

Put all ingredients in a jar & shake well.

Crispy Seasoning:

¼ cup butter
1 cup slivered almonds
½ cup sesame seeds
2 packages “Mr. Noodles” – crushed – do not use the seasoning packet

Melt the butter on a cookie sheet, add the crushed noodles, almonds and sesame seeds. Toast in the oven until brown, allow to cool.

Just before serving add the crispy seasoning to the cabbage. Pour dressing over and mix well.

This makes a large bowl of salad – enough to feed at least a dozen (or more).
I usually prepare everything and just make small amounts as I need it.

Responses

  1. Oh, wow. Thanks for this recipe! I actually have another salad recipe, its called Fumi salad and it also uses crushed instant noodles, but this one with the baking thingie sounds yummy! 🙂

  2. Just in time for summer, we’ll do need a lot of salad recipes!

  3. just what I need 🙂
    will try your recipe Leah, thanks for sharing!

  4. Oh, thanks Leah… this is exactly what I need. I like cabbage. And I like nuts and stuff like that in my salads. I don’t know what’s Mr. Noodles though. You can toast the noodles?

  5. Hmmm… I think I have to try this. Thanks, Leah! 🙂

  6. Hi Gypsy,
    I’d love to try your Fumi salad too. Do share the recipe. The noodles are definitely yummy. Hope you’ll enjoy this too.
    5:21 AM

    Hello Makis,
    Salads are indeed great for summer and all your backyard or picnic events. This is easy to do.

    Hi Pining,.
    Glad to know you’ll try this. Hope you’ll enjoy.

    Hello Toe,
    It is kind of odd when I first tried this, I did not know the noodles were toasted. But it was so yummy I had to get the redipe and try it for myself. Only place the noodles on the salad when you’re ready to serve, otherwise it gets soggy. (I tried that once when I brought it to work for lunch).

    Hello Rhodora,
    Certainly a good way to get your greens and reds (in this case) in the body. Plus, almonds are good for you too.

  7. i love fresh cabbages din..kahit na simple dressing lang wud be superb for me.

    goodluck to your domain,Leah.I bought a domain and didnt know how to set it up myself,goshh,sayang lang yata yung payment ko..pero,ill work on it din,para yun sa affiliates ko 🙂

  8. This one sounds good! Masubukan nga. Do you think I can just microwave the noodles , almonds,etc. para mas madali? ;0)

  9. Hello Ghee,
    This is a simple dressing…try it.
    As for the domain, I got it for same reason as you. Hope you can work on it as well. Aside from time constraints, there’s a lot of techie stuff kasi kaya mahirap.

    Hi Gina said…
    Not sure if the microwave will work. Subukan mo and find out if the microwave will work.

    I usually use the oven on Hi or Lo . No need to put it on 300 deg. kasi you’re just toasting it,so 5 minutes should do. Just make sure you dont burn it (I’ve done that before with these noodles). So maybe less time depending on your oven’s temp. Subukan mo and find out if the microwave will work.

  10. this sounds real good. i like veggies and salads but i am not really a fan of noodles, can you suggest a nicer alternative to it? bread sticks maybe? 🙂

  11. Hi Zherwin,
    You dont have to add the noodles. But its different , its crunchy and not soft. If yoou reallt dont want to try, just add more almonds.

  12. Wow! Cooking time! Cgurado masarap yan. PAti parang ang daling gawin kasi simple lang yung recipe

  13. Hi Ferdz,
    It is really simple to make. Try mo.

  14. I only love to eat salad and not make them, but I might have to try that recipe or better yet make one and save some for me 🙂

  15. i should try this one since i’m putting mylove on a diet..he.he. tks for sharing! 🙂

  16. Hi Leah. Thanks for sharing your LP 18. I’m not fond of cabbage but this recipe is very interesting and worth a try. Thanks of sharing. I also posted my LP 18 just recently. Happy weekend!

  17. Hi Leila,
    I’ll shop for the ingredients…Sige, punta ka sa amin. Serve ko sa’ yo.

    Hello Dangkin,
    It is really low on calories. When I went on diet, this is what I had for dinner almost everyday.

    Hi Rachel,
    Oh wow, you participated in LS 18 too. Great. I’ll come visit you later.
    Hope you can try this recipe,

  18. Looks really delicious.. I’m a salad freak.. I will try this one 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  19. Hi BW,
    Hey there, glad to know you eat healthy. Greens/Reds are good for us all. Enjoy

  20. Something must be wrong with m browser as I can’t see the photo. But by reading the recipe and the comments… I must really try this one. Thanks! 😉

  21. me too, no photo either..anyhow, i think the noodles part is interesting! thanks for sharing…might give that red cabbage another chance…

  22. hi leah, you’ve not only made toni happy with the red cabbage ingredient, you even included some linga in there, too 😀 i’d have to ask, though, what is mr.noodles? are those the same as the instant ramen noodles or the lucky me ones?

  23. Red cabbage in salad is love! I remember being served a side salad of red cabbage, carrots and singkamas at My Little Kitchen years back.

    Bakit sila nagsara na? *sob sob sob*

  24. Oh, I’ve been trying to find this recipe. It first tasted it at my sister’s home. Now I can make it too. Thanks leah!

    PS-hey, haven’t seen you on ISC lately. Miss ka na namin ni annamanila 😀

  25. gotta love cabbage salads! i hope i can try this one. i just hate the after-effects, though. *wink* kaboom! LOL…

  26. Hi Iska, thanks for dropping by.
    I did not post any photo. Will update as soon as I make this salad again. The photo I put it the post is just the Oh My Gulay photo from Toni
    Hi Ces,
    You have a great spicy site. Hope you get the chance to try this
    Hi Mrs. PartyGirl,
    You can use any instant noodles. Ramen or Lucky Me should be fine.
    Hi Kaoko,
    Red cabbage and singkamas sounds good too. I hope you were able to remake it despite the closure.
    Hi Chateau,
    O sige try mo. Miss you at ISC as well. Will catch up soon.
    Hi Dhey,
    Cabbage is a great diet food. I’m sure you’ve heard of the cabbage diet. Great sound effects in the end. But hey, who’s complaining?


Leave a Reply

Categories

