Posted by: Leah | June 28, 2007

Chocolate chip cookies

Today is my daughter’s last day in school as a senior kindergarten. In September, when the school year resumes, she becomes grade one. Last week was the graduation ceremony and I cant help but be so proud when she went up the stage and said…..”when I grow up, I want to be a song writer.” She was the only one to say that ambition.

Its kind of weird going back to school after the graduation was held but just the same, she’s been having lots of fun this last week. And tomorrow, they have some party in the classroom and I was assigned to bring in some treats. I decided to bake some chocolate chip cookies since it has to be peanut free. And if it is made at home I can be sure it is.

cookies1.jpg
I was able to make about 4 dozen cookies from the recipe out of the Hershey chipits Semi-sweet chocolate chips bag. We sampled a few and yummy..really tasty.
Here’s the recipe.
1. cream together 1 cup 9250 ml) shortening or softened butter,
1 cup(250 ml) packed brown sugar and
1/2 cup (125 ml) granulated sugar.
Beat in 2 eggs and 1 1/2 tsp (7 ml) vanilla
2. Combine 2 cups (500 ml) all-purpose flour,
1 tsp (5ml) baking soda and 1/2 tsp (7ml) salt
Gradually blend into creamed mixture
3. Stir in one package (350 g) Hershey Chipits Semi-Sweet Chocolate chips
4. Drop dough by tablespoonfuls (15 ml) onto ungreased cookie sheet.
Bake at 375 F (190 C) for 10 to 12 minutes.

Responses

  1. must be meeting Jim Paredes’ and rubbing off his influence in her that made her say that?

    congratulations to the parents for bringing up an intelligent gal…on to GRADE ONE!

    hi Junnie,
    siguro nga…but i think it was mostly by watching Canadian idol. Thanks

  2. wow, congrats to your future songwriter! I updated your site link. have a good day!

    Thanks Malaya

  3. Wow ang galeng naman ng anak mo, may abition agad. Sana matupad ano? at tiyak na sisikat din ang mommy 🙂

    Sana nga Mon. I would be a stage mother for sure. lol

  4. Nice new look !

    Uy, congratulations to the new graduate. God Bless her on her journey through life.

    Those cookies look really good, the kids must have loved them!

    Thanks Gina, yeah the cookies were all gone. I guess they liked it.

  5. I’ve tasted your cookie and its supah yummy, hehe…

    Thanks Mitch…di kayo nagtira..inubos lahat.

  6. So chocloate chip cookies to celebrate your new beautiful and refreshing template ! I just love your new look !!! 🙂 Pengeeeeeee !!!

    Hi Haze,
    I’m glad you like the new look. Thanks

  7. wow..that’s original. I mean when I had that speech in kindergarten..everybody was like saying “when I grow up i want to be a nurse” so i ended up copying what they want too hehe

    your cookies look yummy Leah 🙂

    Hi Verns,
    yeah, she was practising “I want to be a teacher” for the longest time, changed her mind after watching one episode of Canadian idol

  8. Congratulations to the young graduate. My preschool aspires to be a singer. Maybe they can work together in the future. 🙂

    I’m sure the cookies were a hit.

    Happy weekend!

    thanks Rach…for sure. they can be a team.

  9. Your daughter’s speech made me smile. Why not? So she must love music at her young age?

    Which makes me remember that as a grader, my daughter (now a medical intern) wanted to be either a “magbubukid” or “pintor” — yung house painter ba.

    Hi Anna,

    Yes she loves music. She likes what we like, even jazz. Funny how they come up with their ambition. I’ve always wanted to be nurse and then later a lawyer, never got to be any of those. We grow up and change our minds talaga. My niece wanted to be a cashier. lol

  10. Forgot to say yum yum to the chocolate chip cookies. I used to like baking too — I baked a mean deep dark chocolate cake na very moist and very very hershey. All my nephews and nieces were crazy over it. But my own kids,always preferred any cake except that one. Mas gusto nila store-bought. The brats.

    Hi annamanila,
    brats nga…maybe they do eat it without your knowledge. Sounds really yummy. I’d love to taste a sample.

  11. o nga, kakaibang ambisyon…

    i gotta try your version of the chocolate chip cookie

    hi Girlie,

    Oo nga, unique ang aking unica hija , mana kay mommy. The cookies are definitely yummy, hope your turn out good too.

  12. So there are schools here that have a kindergarten graduation. My kids never had that.

    Congrats on the young graduate. 🙂

    Song writer huh? How do you feel about that ? 🙂

    Hi Niceheart,
    Yup, there’s SK graduation. Its a milestone. Next one will be in Grade 8 na, right?
    I’m sure the song writer ambition will change in time, but if she decides to pursue, I’ll be there to support the artistic venture.

  13. thanks for you recipe, I will try make chocolate chips for my mom 🙂

    Hi Gadis,
    no problem, hope it turns out good. Lucky mom.


Leave a Reply

Categories

