Posted by: Leah | September 13, 2007

Babies are not that breakable

pmn.png
I wrote this article a few months ago in PMN (Pinoy Mom’s Network) This was the original write-up I submitted to the editor. Check out the “edited” version, it is much better.

I have not had a chance to do another original contribution to PMN. Hopefully, the writing fairy will come visit me and sprinkle me with some fairy dusts to rid me of this “writer’s blocked syndrome.”

If you are interested to join PMN and contribute some pieces, do visit them over here and find out how.

When I was a little girl, babies to me were creatures meant to torture their parents with crying for no apparent reason. As I grew older, I realized these babies had needs, either to be changed out of their soiled diapers or because they needed feeding. And as I entered maturity, I regard them as precious little ones, fragile and always in need of caring for. I remember well, how I would look at a child trying to take her first steps and how I wanted so much to hold on to her so she would not fall. I had this thought in my head that I would not be able to care for a child or even mother one since I am so afraid that they might break.

Reaching my late twenties, I thought of how my biological clock was ticking away. I had friends who were getting married and having babies. I wanted to have that too. So after a year into my married life, i was planning babies much to my husband’s chagrin. My goal was to have a baby by 30. Well, not everything comes as planned. I was a year and a half late, I had my baby at the age of 31 1/2 yrs.

I learned that babies may be fragile but they are very adaptive as well. It is amazing how fast they grow. And through their growth there is so much to learn. From those sleepless nights for feeding or when that darn tooth is trying to break out or when a nasty cold is keeping her awake. Those shrieking cries in the car seat while your driving and those endless diapers that needed to be changed. None can compare with the smiles and giggles and laughter they bring. Plus that baby smell I can never get tired of. And just the feel of having someone so small in your arms that simply craves for such tenderness.

Oh what bliss and definitely all worth waiting my 31 1/2 yrs.

I daresay I would not mind doing it all over again. If my clock still allows me to.

Responses

  1. Babies can be a hard ass sometimes. But that’s becasue they’re still confused of things that they can do and frustrated of things they cant. Everyday is an experiment and new experience for them… And I just love them. Do you notice how all babies are beautiful? Regardless of sex and race or stage of life.

  2. Oh I just love baby’s breath…..hmmmmm
    Nice piece!

  3. Hmmm… halos pareho pala tayo , I had my first baby when I was 30 🙂
    Indeed they are worth it …
    yes, this is such a nice post Leah 🙂

  4. good one, Leah

    if you say: Oh what bliss and definitely all worth waiting my 31 1/2 yrs.

    i’ll say: Oh what bliss and definitely all worth having my 7 wonderful blessings.

    and thanks dear for the mascara that you sent through Annamanila. you sure hit right in my heart–i can never go without mascara. you’re so thoughtful

    happy weekend and God bless you!

  5. Hi Leah,

    I remember those days when my kids were babies and yes there is nothing better than hearing their laughter. I enjoy them even more now that they are older.

  6. Great piece Leah! Babies are indeed blessings and all the crying and the smells are all part of the bargain!

  7. very nice post Leah. My wife wanted to have another one but it is just so difficult to raise them here unless she leaves work full time. But then we have friends and relatives who have babies so she baby sits them sometimes 🙂

  8. hi, leah. it is really an effort to force one’s self to write without that ‘inspiration’ that helps us express easily. happens to me sometimes, too.

    it is the baby’s smell that is so heavenly you can’t afford not to hug and kiss them all the time. 😀

  9. so, i’m not so late naman pala. i’m already 29 and no babies yet, not even pregnant. i love babies but i also love my life now so i’m kinda torn in between. but your writeup inspired me, maybe i can wait until i’m 31-32 (or not! hay ewan…) 🙂

  10. Hi Leah. Being a mother certainly makes everything else worthwhile and more meaningful. My husband and I waited (by choice) to have a child after three years of marriage. Having a son made us feel happier and complete.

  11. Having children is one of the most extraodinary I ever had because they’re conceived in love ! They could be capricious, tough, naughty and vice-versa but still they are our source of joy and strength ! I considered my children miraculous kids co’z I was destined not to have one because of some health problems ! Now, we are happy and contented, it makes our marriage more stronger and meaningful ! They are our LIFE and I am sure you are too Leah ! Thank you for this great post ! Happy Sunday !

  12. Babies are fragile physically, but they can melt a hard heart of mommy and daddy, lol

    and they got buying power…
    In groceries, parents buy more of the babies’ needs than theirs, imagine that.
    Grabeh sila…

  13. As I commented in Annamanila’s site… I used to be scared of holding babies (and still am) hanggang tingin lang ako and tickling them when they are safely in their mother’s arms. 🙂

  14. They are gifts from above. We are blessed to have our own babies. Nakakawala sila ng pagod sa maghapon.

  15. hi leah. another great piece… i had bryzzia when i was 32, jobo two years after and sophia when i was 38. Yes, you are so right… it was worth the wait!!!

  16. I had my kids in my mid-twenties. Though I will never regret having them, at the back of my mind, I tell myself that if I had waited ’til I’m 30 before I had kids, maybe I would have been successful in my career. At this point in my life, I’m still entry-level career-wise.

  17. sali sana ako sa PMN, i thought i read Pinoy Men’s Network…Mom’s pala..just the same, I enjoyed this one…ill ask the writing fairy to visit you soon, andito sa tabi ko eh…i’ve been writing a lot the past days eh 🙂

  18. I can’t really relate. Wala pa kasi akong baby. But my girlfriend already one want. Kaya I’m a bit pressured this time that we can get married next year.
    Pareho kayo ng girlfriend ko. Her goal is to have a baby before reaching the age of 30 🙂

  19. nice one leah!keep it up!

    best regards 🙂

  20. I have read this before. And it rings truer with the second reading.

    So how about it, if babies aren’t breakable and they’re such joy to have, and your daughter is such a darling, and your biological clock is ticking …. have another go? Good luck, God bless, whatever you decide. But come home for a vacay before anything else. 🙂

  21. Hi Ate na-tag po kita.


Leave a Reply

Categories

