Posted by: Leah | November 23, 2007

Bedtime Stories

frog.jpg
Ever since my daughter was a baby, we have started reading to her. A bedtime story is always looked forward to. Its a great bonding time as well when we can cuddle and talk about what happened during the day.

I think I’ve read more children’s stories more than fictions from my 6 years of mothering. She has a collections of fairy books (Disney Fairies and Rainbow Magic fairies series) , Dr.Seuss, Robert Munsch and many more.

Nowadays, she can read and it simply amazes me to hear her. She is getting better each day.

And there’s more….we have discovered this website called Storynory

Its a site where Prince Bertie the Frog brings you an audio story every week. Each one is read specially for him by his friend Natasha. But Bertie likes to share – so you can hear them too, ABSOLUTELY FREE!

I have listened to Natasha read and she mesmerizes me with her reading. Its like being brought into the story itself. Try it for yourself.

My hubby has downloaded some stories in his MP3 and they listen together (with earphones) at night sometimes and even in the car, its a good idea to play it on long trips.

Now let’s sample a story…It is entitled Bertie’s Christmas Storynory, it will take approximately 8 minutes
Listen and read along over at StoryNory.
christmastree.jpg

Now, this morning it’s a bit cold in this part of the world. Mr Frosty has been to visit, and the vegetable patch is white and glistening. There’s ice on the pond.

“Brrrr,” sai Colin the Carp. It’s too cold in this stupid pond.”

“You know what today is, don’t you?” said Bertie.

“Nope,” said Tim the Tadpole, who hadn’t learn to say “no” properly yet.

“It’s Christmas,” said Bertie.

“Not interested,” said Colin, who is a very grumpy fish who doesn’t like anything much. Not even Christmas.

“What’s Christmas?” asked Tim.

Everybody was used to Little Tim asking Stupid questions, but Prince Bertie was amazed that his friend hadn’t heard of Christmas.

“You don’t know about Christmas, young Tim,” boomed Bertie. “My, my. I’ll show you. Let’s go over to the palace.”

“But I can’t walk,” said Tim. “I haven’t got any legs.”

So Tim climbed onto Bertie’s back, and then Bertie hopped up the garden to the palace. Tim was a bit frightened, because he had never left the pond before.

“Hold on there, little Tim,” boomed Bertie as he leapt up onto a ledge.

They looked through the window. Tim was amazed, as he saw the Christmas tree with the lights sparkling on it. And he saw all the children opening their presents, and the huge feast on the table. “I’ve never seen anything so magical, Bertie,’ he said. “How I wish we could have Christmas down on the pond.”

And Bertie felt a little tear in his froggy eye as he thought of all the lovely Christmases he had enjoyed when he was a prince, opening hundreds of presents, and stuffing himself with chocolates and mince pies and cake until he felt quite sick. And he remembered how in the afternoon, when he had taken his nap, he would go out onto the Balcony of the Palace and make a Special Christmas Speech to all Crowds of people who came to see him. “May you all be happy this coming year”, he would say, “And thank you for all the toys and lovely presents you sent me for Christmas.’

And then Princess Beatrice, who is as kind as she is beautiful, would go to the hospital, and give some of Berties’ toys to the poorly little children who were spending Christmas there. Prince Bertie had so many toys, that he didn’t really mind letting her give some away, although he probably would have minded if somebody not quite so lovely as Princes Beatrice had done it. .

And so Bertie sat on the window ledge remembering all the happy Christmases he had spent in the past. But then he remembered how he had been turned into a frog, and how the Lovely Princes Beatrice could no longer marry him. He would never spend another Christmas with Princess Beatrice now. “Sniff Sniff, Croak Croak” he said, because this was the Saddest Christmas Day he had ever spent.

Just then, as Bertie was crying some more froggy tears, the door of the palace opened. The noise startled Bertie, and he fell from the window ledge onto the ground. “Argghhh,” he croaked. “Eeeekkkkk,” yelped Tim.

“Oh, look, there’s frog,” said Princess Beatrice, as she stepped onto the pathway.

And she picked him up in her hand and carried him back to the pond. She didn’t even notice little Tim who was clinging by his tail with all his might, hanging on to Bertie’s big toe.

Bertie felt very happy to be so close to the Princess Beatrice again, because he loved her so very much. But he also felt a bit sad, because she didn’t realize he was Prince Bertie at all and just thought he was a frog.

And how he longed to be a Prince again. “Croak! Croak!” he said. But Princes Beatrice just laughed because she could not understand any of his croaks. Then she put him down by the side of the pond, and she took a mince pie out of her handbag, where she always kept nice things in case she saw a little child or a furry animal to whom she could give a present. “I’m sure all the creatures who live in the pond would like that,” she said, in the loveliest, gentlest voice that Tim the Tadpole had ever heard.

Colin the Grumpy Carp wanted to look out of the water at her, but he banged his head on the ice. “Mince pies!” he grumped. “I don’t like them. Why can’t she gives us some a dead insects?”

“Oh, do be quiet Colin,” said Sadie the beautiful black Swan. “I think Christmas is lovely. I think we should celebrate it every year on the pond from now on.”

And if enough children keep listening to Bertie’s Stories, perhaps by next year he will have turned back into a prince and he can marry the lovely Princess Beatrice. Then the Royal Couple will come down to the pond and bring lots and lots of mince pies and Christmas Pudding and fat juicy flies for the Pond Life to enjoy a super-duper lunch.

So tell all your friends to go to Storynory.com, to visit Bertie, and hear all his stories, so maybe next year Bertie will be able to open all his presents again in the palace with Princess Beatrice

Responses

  1. I love reading and being read about Bible stories…I think I’ll do that in the future…

    the passion to reading before bed has led me to doing the same thing even to this ripe age…ngayon from the laptop na hanggang makatulog

    Hey Junnie,
    I dont remember much of my childhood being that way. My love of books came later in my life. I think my teenage years. Moreso now.

    I love being read to as well. I am now into audio books and that was a great experience, 11 CDs – I’ll blog about it soon.

  2. Hi Leah. Thanks for sharing this website…their audio stories are simply wonderful! even downloadable..I might download some and send to my nephews and nieces.

    Thanks for the visit and please let me know if the photography trick with silver board works for you.

    Have a great weekend!

    Hi Thess,
    Thanks for coming by. Hopefully, your nieces and nephew will love the stories.
    I will post a photo once I am able to get the silver board and if i am successful at all.

  3. I still think reading is still better than listening.
    I did the same with my son… he became an avid and super reader till last year.
    He is now 14 and alas since last year chatting and texting with friends took over. I am really sad that he almost stopped reading.

    Oh I agree with you Sidney. It is through reading aloud that they learn. I’m sure your son has found other outlets of reading. It is just probably a phase. At that age, I read as many books as I can, I think I finished the Nancy Drew series and Hardy Boys as well.

  4. I’ve always thought that books are the greatest gift you can give to kids. I just became a fan of books at a later part of my childhood & Sesame Street just wins me over every single time 🙂 What I like most about books is that it develops imagination & creativity.

    Hi Makis,
    It is through reading that we learn. I encourage reading a lot to my daughter. I even got her to signup for a library card so she can borrow books too. It encourages love of books.

  5. Thanks for sharing about the story web site. I have bookmarked it and plan to check it out further. It just may be quite useful I have some of my nehews and nieces over.

    Thanks for the visit TIm, i’m sure they will enjoy the stories.

  6. I’d have to read this story to my daughter .. She loves me or my wife reading to her at bedtime 🙂

    Hi BW,
    Oh I’m sure she’ll enjoy this story. There are more in the sorynory webpage. Goodnight:)

  7. interesting for the kid inside everyone’s hearts. thanks for sharing leah.

    Hi Oggie,
    We all can take a break once in awhile with reading stories like these. I remember devouring these fairytale stories when I was in high school since I dont remember ever being read to when I was a little girl.

  8. Hi, Leah. That’s quite a long read…
    Bedtime stories, I remember my father used to tell us stories (Bernardo Carpio, English epic, etc) when we were about to sleep. I think those tradition had changed at present. Now, I can see children gathered around TV and in fact, sleep late at night for those fantaserye. I think bedtime stories can create more vertical connection between parents and children, not a health hazard, and is more intellectual. Please let me know if you agree with me 😉

    Hi Dodong,
    Thanks for taking time to read. I love listening to these stories. Such can bring us into fantasy land. My daughter has developed quite an imagination through all these stories. And being imaginative is good for the mind. And I am quite sure your father’s stories to you have helped you a lot. You have a way with words yourself.

    I agree with you, too much TV is not good for anyone much more for the kids. And I am strict with a proper bedtime routine. Kids should not stay up so late. They are gorwing and need all the sleep they can get for the next day’s activities, i.e school.

  9. Hi Leah.

    I love reading stories to my son even when he was just a few months old. He developed a love for books. Every night, I would read him a story before sleeping. I always buy him books whenever there’s a chance.

    Thanks for sharing this interesting story. I book marked the link and will check it out soon.

    Hi Rachel,
    Reading is a great and fun way to go places. It teaches them to appreciate this art at an early time. Hope you get the chance to read the story to your son.

    Thanks for dropping by.

  10. Oops,

    The anonymous one is me. Forgot to put my details.

    Rachel, I edited the comment to show your name.

  11. Women are very good at telling bedtime stories. I should know because my boy always depends on his mother for it. I sucked at it though. 🙂

    Hi Rey,

    I agree I read better than my hubby ( I make vooices and do some acting too -he!he!) but hey he still reads to my daughter and she loves it. I’m sure your little boy loves it any other way.

  12. You know what is probably universal in all moms is the wish that their kids will be smart. I am so so excited at the prospect of every little development my baby girl will go through. And especially reading. I’m a big literature lover and I wonder if (and hope that) she’ll be the same.

    Hi pinayhekmi,

    We all wish the best for our children. We all pass on our traits to our kids and for my family, reading is one of them.

  13. Thanx, Leah. Given more time, when I’ll have my own kids to rear of, I still would implement the old-time habit for bed stories. That (as you said being imaginative is good for the mind) will better enhance their imagination, more than any other thing (like watching TV)

    Good luck in the future Dodong, you will be a great dad for sure.

  14. I myself is lazy when it comes to reading…i have moods ! But when it comes to reading stories to my children I read them accompanied with TLC. Not really into romance but more on psychology books, magazines and newspapers!

    That’s good Haze. Keep reading to them, we learn a lot too from doing so. I used to read a lot of romance novel. Now, I go with whatever I fancy, usually best sellers and ofcourse those from my fave authors.

  15. i guess what a mom passes, most of it, if not all, a kid acquires. this reminds me of the times i read for my children. and this is really effective. kids grow smart, sometime smarter pa sa yo pag lumalaki na ha ha

    Hi Bing,
    I agree, smaller kids can grasp a lot of facts. So take advantage while they’re young.

  16. shame on me. I’m too lazy to read bedtime stories to my children. Maybe these will help. I’ll try to read more to the kiddos. 🙂

    hi Tani,
    Sige, try this site. Happy reading!


Leave a Reply

Categories

