Posted by: Leah | January 30, 2008

When you drink from the river of silence

News of death always throw me off my balance. As much as I try to distance myself. I feel as though these people, these acquaintances, co-workers, friends…even though I don’t know them as well , I am affected. Somehow in a way, they have touched my life even in a small way.

Daisy passed away last August. She was a close friend. Once in a while I would remember her. A photo maybe, a thing or something would remind me of her. It still seems unreal that I would never see her again. I finally got the chance to send a text message to her husband to find out how he is doing. It isnt easy for him. But….

Ken is a co-worker from a few years back. I learn of his cancer and I was delighted when he came back to work. I was so surprised when this guy called my name over my shoulder and I just couldn’t recognize him, he lost so much weight. He came back to work since he was feeling well enough. He did part time hours. I didn’t realize he has gone back to remission and before Christmas, he finally succumbed.

Tom was my team leader in a previous department. Av ery happy guy and full of stories. Suddenly he was gone. Heart failure. Only 45.

Anne, another co-worker has moved on to other companies. I’ve bumped into her once in the mall and have exchange pleasantries. I was surprised to hear from another co-worker that she did not survive a car accident. Happened a couple of months ago.

Yesterday, I paid my final respects to a colleague from work. I was shocked to hear of Rajeev’s demise – only 44. He called all the ladies “sunshine” especially if he needed a favour. What a jolly guy. So full of life then but not anymore now. He had a heart attack after a soccer game with some co-workers. Must have been really a shocker to see him right there trying to catch his last breath. It is very melancholy today at work. I am sad too. I worked with this guy over tha last 10 or so years, more so over the past year. He will be missed.

Life goes on for us and for those they left behind – quite much more painful I’m sure. And for them that are not here anymore, a second life maybe, a new beginning?

I pray for them. So drop in a prayer or two. Please and Thank you.

Quotes by Gibran

For what is it to die but to stand naked in the wind
and to melt into the sun?

And what is it to cease breathing but to free the
breath from its restless tides, that it may rise and
expand and seek God unencumbered?

Only when you drink from the river of silence
shall you indeed sing.

And when you have reached the mountain top,
then you shall begin to climb.

And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then
shall you truly dance.

Responses

  1. hi leah. it’s bittersweet to note that i am more or less undergoing the same experience right now. our gym manager passed away before Christmas due to a heart attack; she was only 48. my most favorite autoservice manager suki, mang marlon, suffered from a heart attack after playing basketball; he survived but i haven’t heard if his condition is better. a former boss who’s been a dear friend for the last 15 years, just came home from makati med icu after suffering from an aneurysm. death and near-death experiences make us ponder about life, i guess and how precious it is. indeed, life goes on for the rest of the world but we will always miss people who’ve passed on to the next life, hoping we will meet them again some day.

    Hi Oggie,
    So sorry to hear about your friends as well. Life is short talaga. I sometimes imagine myself where these passed ones are and I cant help but be sad for the people I will leave behind. I guess, to be ready is a good idea to think of at all times.

  2. […] Hot Momma Gossip wrote an interesting post today on When you drink from the river of silenceHere’s a quick excerpt News of death always throw me off my balance. As much as I try to distance myself. I feel as though these people, these acquaintances, co-workers, friends…even though I don’t know them as well , I am affected. Somehow in a way, they have touched my life even in a small way. Daisy passed away last August. She was a close friend. Once in a while I would remember her. A photo maybe, a thing or something would remind me of her. It still seems unreal that I would never see her again. I finally got […]

  3. it’s always a shock to hear someone has died before their prime. i recently learned about a best-selling author who died a few years ago. He was only in his 40s. but i think also that death is a reminder for those remaining to live life to the fullest.

    Hi Wil,

    It is shocking to hear of those who go so young. It always make me think about my own life. Certainly put life into perspective.

  4. Seeing people come and go is never easy. Especially if they are friends and colleagues whom we share special bond with.

  5. Hi Leah, sorry to hear about your co worker. Every time I hear of someone dying unexpectedly I realize even more how short life is and that we should live everyday as if it’s our last.

    We were watching our wedding video with our girls last weekend and although that was only sixteen years ago, it was sad to realize that some of those people who attended our happy day are no longer with us.

    Yes JMom, people come and go and we dont realize how short life really is. Photos are great to remember those who are not here anymore.

  6. News of people we know passing abruptly shocks and reminds us that we all are living in borrowed time. All we can do is pray that we can live long enough to see our grandchildren and make the best of our borrowed time in this world.

    Hi BW,

    Borrowed life indeed, lets make the best out of it is a good mantra to say to ourselves

  7. Hi Leah. I’m sorry to hear about the death of your colleague. Death is never easy to accept. It’s a constant fear in everyone. I just pray that God will keep my family and love ones safe.

    hi Rachel,
    Its true Rachel. Thanks for your prayers.

  8. I love the words of Khalil Gibran. He makes us see death in a different light, almost like a very welcome thing. I always pray for those who have gone before us, and I will include Rajeev . Now ‘he can truly dance”.

    Hi Gina, Gibran is a great author. Very inspirational. Thanks for your prayers.

  9. wow. am sure he was a good guy and even those who are well disciplined physically succumb to the “thief of the night”…will say a prayer for him tonight

    thanks Junnie

  10. that must be hard for you and the families that was left behind. My condolences to everybody and will say a prayer as well……….but as they say life must go on. GOD BLESS!

    Thanks Eden….life goes on.

  11. Hi Leah,

    Death of someone we know makes us more aware of our own mortality. It brings out our fear of our own death or a very close love one. It is a very heavy subject but a very real one. Some people would rather not speak of it not to mention think of it. Having lost my mom when I was 15 makes me more aware that we can never tell our time.

    My sincerest condolences to your co-worker’s family.

    Hi Tina,
    A touchy feely subject. You must have deal much differently then at such young age. Lets pray for them all.

  12. Death is the only part of natural living that we can never get used to. Birth, relationships, marriage… all these make life so colorful. But death? While those who passed on can “truly dance”, those left behind obtain the obstacles and reflections on this reminder of their mortality.

    My condolences to your officemates’ loved ones.

    It is inevitable, something we can never escape from. Thanks for the thoughts Toni.

  13. beautiful poem.

  14. I can feel you Leah, all my condolences ! I can so relate recently an office worker from husband office had an accident (in the container terminal) so can you imagine! I will spare you the details because it really very serious! We are affected until now because the story isn’t resolved yet . Still looking for the guilty ones.

    Even they are not our friends only acquaintances, or just people around we are somehow sad of what had happened and we cry for them inside ! Will say a prayer for your friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

