Posted by: Leah | November 14, 2008

Santa Claus Parade 2008 in Toronto

santa2Its that time of that year again and Santa is coming to town. Over the last 3 years , my family and I go to Oshawa to watch the nightime Santa Parade. Oshawa is closer to home, so its easier for us to watch it there. Plus the night time effect with all the lights and colours is pretty spectacular.

This year though, we have decided to go to the downtown Toronto Parade happening on Novemeber 16 . The 104th Santa Claus Parade starts at 12:30 p.m. on Sunday. The parade runs from the corner of Bloor and Christie Sts., runs east along Bloor to Avenue Rd., south to Queen St., then east to Yonge St. From Yonge, the parade heads south to to Front St., turning east on Front and ends at the corner of Front and Church Sts. Global TV will broadcast the parade on Sunday, Nov. 16 from 4 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.

santa1This parade is known to be the largest production of its kind in North America. The 1st ever Santa Claus Parade was originally launched in 1905 it was a ‘one-man show’ – Santa himself.

Year by year more floats were introduced and personnel added until it became one of the largest productions of its kind in North America. The parade has a delayed telecast shown all over the world. So, if you are not in and around Toronto and missed this parade. Check it out on TV. Maybe you’ll even see me waving to you. lol.

I promise to post photos.

Responses

  1. Wow. There is also a Santa Claus parade tomorrow at Wellington CBD. We’re still thinking if we will go or not, however…

  2. I wish we can also have a chance to see a parade like that…i’m sure my kids will enjoy it.

  3. Hey Leah! I hope you and the family have a great time tomorrow. I would like to go, but not really in the holiday spirit yet…. been worried for an interview next week. I hear there may even be flurries for the parade, it’ll make it more festive. Please say hi to Santa for me! I’ll just wait to see your pictures.

  4. Actually, on second thought, maybe I will go. What part of the route will you be at?

  5. It must have been a really spectacular parade. I’m sure both kids and adults enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to the photos.

  6. Naku! Pasko na pala talaga… Hindi na mapipigilan 🙂

  7. This reminds me of my first (and only) Christmas in the UK–I went along with friends to the city center to supposedly to see my first real live reindeer, only to find out that the reindeer was a no-show because of the so-called Blue-Tongue Disease…! Oh well. 🙂 By the way, I finally finally posted the Pink Sis Tag. Thanks!

  8. oh oh. I hope it doesn’t rain !!

  9. Sounds like so much fun. Photos, please!

  10. Would love to see this too, the child in me loves Santa Claus… I saw one put candy on my hanged socks when I was a kid, he sure does not look like that bushy bearded one. LOL

  11. that’s an exciting event! hope you have fun!

  12. must have been a very colorful spectacle 🙂
    bet you had loads of fun taking those pics.


Leave a Reply

Categories

