Posted by: Leah | August 28, 2009

Time Traveller’s wife – repost

This is a repost from my other blog

I have always been fascinated by time travel. Ever since I first watched the movie “Somewhere in Time” (starring Superman, I mean Christopher Reeve and Jane Eyre, oops, I mean Jane Seymour), any other movie that has a time travel theme would get me interested to watch it. And so when I first ran into the title of this book, I simply had to read it.

I just finished reading The Time Traveler’s wife. It is a beautiful story. A love story.

A man with a time-traveling gene uses his innate abilities to visit his lover at different points in her life.

As I read the book page by page, I felt I was somehow transformed as Claire waiting for my Henry to come home. Feeling the hopes and the joys of being in love with someone who changes in front of me dramatically in years of my life. The love was so intense, I felt I could be there and not regret it because of such undying love given and received. Or sometimes I felt as though I was Henry travelling in the past and at the same time waiting so much to be in the presesnt.

I know I am such a hopeless romantic. I laughed and I cried in this story. I travelled back in time and into the future with Henry. Although I was not the author, I wished I could change the words so I can let the moments linger a little longer and the time spent between Henry and Claire can be prolonged.

But I suppose any story must have an ending. Was it sad? Was it happy one? I think it all depends on how you perceive it as the reader.

Jennifer Aniston and Brad Pitt made headlines when they bought the film rights to Niffenegger’s novel before it was released to the public. Imagine if they had the chance to film the movie? It is supposed to be in production now, but I’m not really sure who will play the main characters. I just have to wait and see.

I can only write about how I felt towards this book. If you want to read a better and more professional review, Click here.

Responses

  1. Hi, Leah. I’m curious in watching if this be filmed. Time travel stories simply interest me.

    I’ve seen the movie Somewhere in Time, too. I watched it during the Betamax days…

  2. Hi Dodong, how are you? The film has been released. Brad Pitt produced it. I have seen the movie and liked it alot. Maybe because it brought me back to the time I was reading the book.

    I am actually re-reading the book.

    You should watch the movie when you get the chance.

  3. that was me…as anonymous

    Leah

  4. I’ll check out this title in SM Megamall. Maybe I should see the movie first and read the more intensive detail in the book…

  5. i must see this movie. there were a lot of positive remarks i heard about it.

  6. Hi, Leah. Just dropping by… 🙂

  7. hi leah!
    i’m glad that you received it already. the chutney, you can eat it as it is, pinapapak kumbaga 🙂 i do hope you will like it, i like the tamarind the most.
    have a good day!

  8. hi leah!

    i got the package! thank you very much, you do not know how happy you have made me. i appreciate all of your efforts and i do admire you a lot for your creativity and the thought you have placed in making that package for me.

    will write a post about it later tonight.

    salamat,
    PM

  9. aahemmm….. guess who won that big box of crafty irish delights???

    http://etsyireland.blogspot.com/2009/11/and-winner-is_16.html

    Best Wishes,
    Tanya ♥

  10. Hi Leah,

    My email address is arabellacardco@eircom.net if you’d like to get in contact regarding shipping details! Thanx! Tx ♥


Leave a Reply

Categories

